Frequently Asked Questions

Bookmark and Share


Frequently Asked Questions


Category Search>>

Currently sorted By last update ascending Sort chronologically: By last update change to descending | By creation date

Page: (Previous)   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  ...  24  (Next)

What are some of the new provider screening and enrollment guidelines?

  • Enhanced provider screening and enrollment based on risk categories (limited, moderate and high) for fraud, waste and abuse for each provider type as assigned by CMS and the SCDHHS.
  • Background checks and unannounced pre and post enrollment site visits.  Fingerprint-based criminal history records checks.   At the present time, the criminal background checks and fingerprinting are not required. 
  • Updated Disclosure of Ownership and Controlling Interest Statements
  • Enrollment of ordering/referring providers 
  • Suspension of provider Medicaid payments in cases of credible allegations of fraud
  • Denial of enrollment and/or termination of a provider from the Medicaid program “for cause”.  This is defined as the revocation of Medicaid billing privileges for specific reasons such as denial/termination from the Medicare program, denial/termination from other state Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Programs, or other reasons based on credible allegations of fraud, integrity or quality.
  • Institution of application enrollment fees for business organizations and entities that are enrolling with South Carolina Medicaid with an Employee Identification Number (EIN).
  • Implementation of a temporary moratorium on new provider enrollments, when instructed by CMS, to protect against high risk of fraud and abuse
  • Revalidation of enrolled providers at least every five years, with the exception of DME providers, who need to revalidate every three years.

How are providers categorized by risk categories?

Three levels of screening (limited, moderate and high) are recognized for those provider types that are also recognized provider or supplier types under Medicare.  For those provider types that are not recognized under Medicare, SCDHHS has assessed the risk of fraud, waste and abuse using similar criteria to those used in Medicare.  See the list below for SCDHHS risk categories:

Limited Risk:

(State-regulated and State-licensed would generally be categorized as limited risk)

  • Physician or non-physician practitioners and medical groups or clinics (excluding Physical Therapists and Physical Therapists Groups)
  • Nursing Homes, Hospitals, Public and Private Community Mental Health Centers, Audiologists, Certified Nurse Midwife/Licensed Midwife, Certified Registered  Nurse Anesthetists, Anesthetist Assistants, CMS Parts A & B, Managed Care Organizations,  Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists, Licensed Professional Counselors, Licensed Independent Social Workers –Clinical Practice, Psychologists, Speech Therapists, Nurse Practitioners, Physician’s Assistants, Occupational Therapists, Physicians, Speech and Hearing Clinics, End Stage Renal Disease Clinics, DHEC Clinics, Federally Qualified Health Clinics, Federally Funded Health Clinics and Rural Health Centers, Ambulatory Surgical Centers, Diabetes Education Clinics, School Districts, Developmental Rehabilitation Clinics, Infusion Centers, Pediatric Aids Clinics, Maternal and Child Health Clinics, Dentists, Opticians, Optometrists, Podiatrist, Chiropractors, Pharmacy, Pharmacy Part D, Individual Transportation Providers, Contractual Transportation Providers , Transportation Broker,  X-Ray (not portable)

Moderate Risk:

(Highly dependent on Medicare, Medicaid and CHIP to pay salaries and other operating expenses and which are not subject to additional governmental or professional oversight and would be considered moderate risk)

  • Rehabilitative Behavioral Health Services,  Physical Therapists , Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation Facilities (CORFs),  Hospice Providers, Community Long Term Care (individuals and groups), Independent Laboratories, X-Ray (portable), Ambulance and Helicopter Providers
  • Currently enrolled (revalidating Home Health Agencies)
  • Currently enrolled (revalidating DMEPOS)

 High Risk:

(Identified by the State as being especially vulnerable to improper payments and would be considered as high risk)

  • Proposed (newly enrolling) Home Health Agencies (HHAs), Suppliers of Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthothics and Supplies (DMEPOS)

Will the entities in each screening category stay the same?

CMS will continuously evaluate whether they need to change the assignment of categories of providers and suppliers to various risk categories.  If they assign certain groups of providers and/or suppliers to a different category, this change will be proposed in the Federal Register.

Can a provider be moved from one risk category to another?

Yes, providers can be reassigned from the “limited” or “moderate” categories due to:

  • Imposition of a payment suspension within the previous 10 years
  • A provider or supplier has been terminated or is otherwise precluded from billing Medicaid
  • Exclusion by the OIG
  • A provider or supplier has been excluded from any federal health care program
  • A provider or supplier has had billing privileges revoked by a Medicaid contractor within the previous 10 years
  • A provider or supplier has been subjected to a final adverse action (as defined in 42 CFR 424.502) within the past 10 years
  • Instances in which CMS lifts a temporary moratorium for a particular provider or supplier type and a provider or supplier that was prevented from enrolling based on the moratorium, applies for enrollment as a Medicaid provider or supplier at any time within 6 months from the date the moratorium was lifted.

What is a Temporary Moratorium?

A temporary moratorium is the imposition of a hold or freeze on the enrollment of new or initial Medicaid providers and suppliers of a particular provider type or the establishment of new practice locations of a particular provider type in a specific geographic area for a period of six months.  CMS may extend a temporary moratorium in six month increments.  The announcement of a moratorium will be reported in the Federal Register.

Will a provider be notified if they are terminated “for cause” and do they have appeal rights?

Yes, a provider will be notified via certified mail when terminated for cause. The provider does have appeal rights.

Where do I send in my credit balance report?

The reports and checks may be mailed regular or certified mail to MIVS, Attn: Benefit Recovery – Credit Balance Reporting, P.O. Box 8355, Columbia, SC 29202-8355 or may be sent by facsimile to MIVS, Attn: Benefit Recovery – Credit Balance Reporting, 803-462-2582.

Where can I find the Medicaid Credit Balance Report forms?

The Medicaid Credit Balance Report Certification Page and Claim Detail forms can be found under the For Providers menu option at – see Credit Balance Forms.

Can a billing provider be an ordering or referring provider as well?

Yes, as long as the provider is not designated as an ordering/referring provider exclusively. Future edits will prevent claims payment if an ordering/referring-only provider submits their NPI as a billing provider.

How can a provider check to see if the ordering/referring physician is enrolled with Medicaid?



On the SCDHHS website, there is a searchable listing of Enrolled Providers under the For Providers tab. If the provider is not listed, then the provider is not currently enrolled with Medicaid. You may also contact the Provider Service Center at 1 (888) 289-0709, option 4 to verify the provider’s enrollment. 


Page: (Previous)   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  ...  24  (Next)